Home | Our School | Aragon Governing Body

Aragon Governing Body

The Local Governing Body of Aragon Primary School consists of eleven elected Governors and three Associate Governors and includes members of staff, parents and co-opted members from the local community.  The Governing Body ensures a transparent recruitment process and governors are appointed following nomination and election according to statutory guidance. All governors volunteer their services and time and have been elected because of their specific knowledge and skills essential for the effective governance of the school.  Terms of office are for 4 years with the Chair and Vice Chair requiring annual election. Associate / Advisory members of Aragon Local Governing Body have no voting rights but bring their specific expertise to the Governing Body.

 Governing Body Meetings are held termly and along with Ms Davey, Headteacher, who is responsible for the day to day management and control of the school, we provide the school's strategic focus and direction.  As a Governing Body we are also entrusted with the ethos, clarity and vision of the school as well as being accountable for ensuring financial probity. 

The Local Governing Body’s Code of Conduct is strictly adhered to and signed annually and it is our duty to publish a Register of Interests for each current governor and those which have served at any point over the past 12 months.  This includes any relevant business/pecuniary interests of governors, details of any other educational establishments they govern and any material interests arising from relationships between governors; or, relationships between governors and members of school staff (including spouses, partners and relatives).  Such declarations will be recorded in the Register of Business Interests, a copy of which is available at the school and will also be published on the website.


The role of governor can be a challenging one and it is rewarding to be a representative of an organisation that has such a positive impact on the children that attend the school and the community it serves.  All decisions we make are always in the best interest of the school, the pupils, the staff and the parents/ carers.


 How to contact us:


This can be arranged via the school office or you can contact us at governors@aragon.merton.sch.uk.



   Aragon Local Governing Body September 2020 / 2021


Ms Isabelle Paget

Co – Opted Governor    01/08/2017 – 31/07/2021

Chair of Local Governing Body and Standards Committee

Temporary Chair Resources Committee

Co - Opted Trustee the WLT

Safeguarding Governor


Ms Julie Davey 

Headteacher Ex Officio   01/08/2017 - 31/07/2067

Resources Committee Member


Mr Terry Daniels

Co - Opted Governor       01/08/2017 - 31/07/2021

Resources Committee Member


Ms Katie O’Sullivan

Staff Appointed Governor     01/09/2017 – 31/08/2021

Early Years Link Governor

Standards Committee Member       


Mr Bradley Coupar

Co-opted Governor    01/04/2018 - 31/03/2022 

Inclusion Link Governor

Standards Committee Member


Mrs Anna Duncan

Co-opted Staff Governor     24/09/19 - 23/09/2023

Health and Safety Link Governor

Standards Committee Member

Resources Committee Member


Mrs Clare Ryder, Deputy Head

Associate Governor/Advisor

Standards Committee Member


Mrs Jessie Linsley, Assistant Head

Associate Governor/Advisor

Designated Safeguarding Lead                      


Mrs Andrea Stirling – Williams Assistant Head

Associate Governor/Advisor

SCITT Lead                          


Dr Kerry Guest

Governance Clerk


Mrs Amanda Curl 

Parent Elected Governor  09/01/20 - 08/01/24
Standards Committee Member


Mr Jamie Bailey

Co - Opted Governor   23/03/2020- 24/03/2024
Resources Committee Member

Mrs Gemma Fromage - Crawford 
Parent Elected  Governor 11/12/20 - 10/12/2024



Previous Governors 


Mrs Zoe Norris

Parent Elected Governor    01/04/2018 - 14/02/20    


Mrs Gerry Perrin

Parent Elected Governor    01/08/2017 – 14/04/2021